Wet Tropics of Queensland

The Barron Falls, Kuranda, Queensland, Australia.

Reviews (0)

| Average rating: 0 Write a review
The Wet Tropics of Queensland World Heritage Site consists of approximately 8,940 km² of Australian wet tropical forests growing along the north-east Queensland portion of the Great Dividing Range, stretching from Townsville to Cooktown, running in close parallel to the Great Barrier Reef (another world heritage site).

The Wet Tropics of Queensland were also added to the Australian National Heritage List in May 2007. The rainforests have the highest concentration of primitive flowering plant families in the world.

Among the National Parks included within the Wet Tropics are:
Barron Gorge National Park
Black Mountain (Kalkajaka) National Park
Cedar Bay National Park
Daintree National Park
Edmund Kennedy National Park
Girringun National Park
Wooroonooran National Park

and over 700 protected areas including privately-owned land.
Share with your friends:
Are you a journalist, photographer or videoreporter travel and have material for Wet Tropics of Queensland?

Sign up add Wet Tropics of Queensland to the list of places where you've been
Nearby points of interest
Fraser Island
Mamu Rainforest

Or register to write a comment for this diary
Languages: English - Italiano

About us - Conditions - Create a Business Account - Careers - Help - Privacy legacy -

Tripblend © 2012 - All rights reserved - Tripblend is property of Imagina Studio - P.Iva IT01083440329 - For more information: info@tripblend.com