Cradle Mountain, Tasmania, Australia

Reviews (0)

| Average rating: 0 Write a review
The Tasmanian Wilderness World Heritage Area is a World Heritage Site in Tasmania, Australia.
The area is one of the largest conservation areas in Australia, covering 13,800 kmĀ², or almost 20% of Tasmania. It constitutes one of the last expanses of temperate wilderness in the world, and includes the South West Wilderness.

The Tasmanian Wilderness, a network of parks and reserves with steep gorges, underwent severe glaciation. Human remains dating back more than 20,000 years have been found in limestone caves in the area.

The following national parks and reserves make up the Tasmanian Wilderness World Heritage Area:
Cradle Mountain-Lake St Clair National Park
Franklin-Gordon Wild Rivers National Park
Hartz Mountains National Park
Mole Creek Karst National Park
Southwest National Park
Walls of Jerusalem National Park
Central Plateau Conservation and Protected Areas
Devils Gullet State Reserve
South East Mutton Bird Islet
Share with your friends:
Are you a journalist, photographer or videoreporter travel and have material for Tasmanian Wilderness?

Sign up add Tasmanian Wilderness to the list of places where you've been
Nearby points of interest
Macquarie Island
Port Arthur
Christmas Island
Video Tasmanian Wilderness
Tasmanian Wilderness
Tasmanian Wilderness Journeys

Or register to write a comment for this diary
Languages: English - Italiano

About us - Conditions - Create a Business Account - Careers - Help - Privacy legacy -

Tripblend © 2012 - All rights reserved - Tripblend is property of Imagina Studio - P.Iva IT01083440329 - For more information: